Holidays and Closures

On this page:

Overview

The U.S. Embassy/Consulate observes both U.S. and Russian holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Russian holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy/Consulate Dates of Closure

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Date Day Holiday Country
January 1 Tuesday New Year Holidays U.S., Russia
January 2 - 4 Wed - Fri New Year Holidays Russia
January 7 Monday Orthodox Christmas Day Russia
January 8 Tuesday New Year Holidays Russia
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day U.S.
February 18 Monday President's Day U.S.
March 8 Friday Women's Day Russia
May 1 Wednesday May Day Russia
May 2 Thursday Bridge holiday (transferred from Saturday, January 5) Russia
May 3 Friday Bridge holiday (transferred from Sunday, January 6) Russia
May 9 Thursday Victory Day Russia
May 10 Friday Bridge holiday (transferred from Saturday, February 23) Russia
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 12 Wednesday Russian Independence Day Russia
July 4 Thursday Independence Day U.S.
September 2 Monday Labor Day U.S.
October 14 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 4 Monday Day of Consent and Reconciliation Russia
November 11 Monday Veteran's Day U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day U.S.