Holidays and Closures

On this page:


Overview

The U.S. Embassy and the Visa Application Center observe both U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will be closed on those dates. The visa application services call center also observes U.S. and Dominican Republic holidays and will also be closed on those dates.

U.S. Embassy and VAC Dates of Closure

The U.S. Embassy and VAC will be closed on the dates shown below.

 

Dates of Closure - All Dates 2018
Month Day Holiday Dominican/U.S.
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day D.R. / U.S.
Dates of Closure - All Dates 2019
Month Day Holiday Dominican/U.S.
January 1 Tuesday New Year's Day D.R. / U.S.
January 6 Sunday Epiphany Day D.R.
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King, Jr's Birthday / Día De Ntra. Sra. De La Altagracia

D.R. / U.S.

January 26 Saturday Día de Duarte D.R.
February 18 Monday Washington's Birthday

U.S.

February 27 Wednesday Dominican Independence Day D.R.
April 19 Friday Good Friday D.R. 
April 21 Sunday Resurrection Sunday D.R. 
April 29 Monday In Observance of Dominican Labor Day D.R.
May 27 Monday Memorial Day U.S.
June 20 Thursday Corpus Christi D.R.
July 4 Thursday U.S. Independence Day U.S.
August 16 Friday Dominican Restoration D.R.
September 2 Monday U.S. Labor Day U.S.
October 14 Monday Columbus Day U.S.
November 4 Monday In Observance of Dominican Constitution D.R.
November 11 Monday Veterans Day U.S.
November 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Day U.S.
December 25 Wednesday Christmas Day D.R. / U.S.